Tallawong the new name for first Sydney Metro railway station


Tallawong Station under construction

Tallawong Station will be the official new name for the first Sydney Metro station in the city’s North West.

The station has been known as Cudgegong Road Station during the construction phase and is the first station on the new metro line once trains leave the Sydney Metro Trains Facility at Rouse Hill.

Tallawong Station will serve The Ponds, Rouse Hill and surrounding areas.

Following community feedback, the station has been named Tallawong, a word with local historical significance that’s derived from the Dharug word ‘dalawang’ for the apple gum tree.

The station is located between Tallawong and Cudgegong roads. It will be serviced by a new metro train every four minutes in the peak and will have:

  • 1,000 commuter car parking spaces;
  • Four bus bays;
  • 15 kiss-and-ride spaces; and
  • Parking and storage for 55 bicycles.

The names of the other stations on the Sydney Metro Northwest project have already been confirmed.

Work at Waterloo Station gives a glimpse of life in Sydney in the 1800’s

Planning underway for landmark commercial and retail building above metro station in North Sydney